New Season

New Season and GW 1 Stats and Results

Hello and welcome to the new season!

I was out all weekend and couldn’t post anything earlier. Sadly, it looks like this season I won’t be able to post all the stats as regularly as I used to last season due to personal reasons (at least over the coming few weeks). I think I’m still going to run my scripts and upload all the usual information from time to time and hopefully will cover all the gameweeks, but the timing will be less stable and some days will fall out completely (as it was the case in GW1).

This creates some discomfort for the reader who may have to refresh my blog in vain for a fair amount of time only to realise later that there will be no post on this particular day. As a short-term solution to this problem, I’m going to add another widget on the right side of the main page. It will be an ‘announcements/schedule’ box saying whether there will be a post on a certain day. In the longer-term, I will try to make the whole process automatic, so that I won’t need to be at home to prepare my posts. However, this would require a lot of work and time, and I currently don’t have any. So, I don’t know yet when I’ll be able to do all of this and if I ever will. I also want to re-write my current code first because it’s rather poorly written and rather ‘buggy’ as a result, and I also want to make some changes to the information that I usually present. Anyway, for the time being, keep an eye on the box on the right side of the main page, I’ll add it soon.


Now please welcome to the first stats of the new season. There is no top 10K at the start of the season, so I only present stats for a random sample of 20,000 teams for this GW.

Team selection (pre-substitutions):

Gameweek results:

Expected average score for GW1 is 47 points. The Chelsea game increased the average by almost 9 points, automatic substitutions and vice-captains added another 2.5 points.

5 comments on “New Season and GW 1 Stats and Results

  1. Good to see you back. The info you posted last season was a brilliant guide as to how my team was doing in relation to everyone else, and it was great when I was beating the 10k average.

    • The top 10K average is a good indicator in the second part of the season. At the start of the season, it will not be very meaningful… I guess top 10K stats next week will be very weird🙂

  2. Yeah! Welcome back and great news you are still going to be able to provide some of your brilliant stats.

    Thanks so much!

  3. This is one of two favorite fantasy websites, great work, you should link this up with other fantasy sites and get some advertising revenue for all the hard work you put in.

Leave a Reply

